How often do I take this journey for granted…

As I drove to work this morning I let my mind wander and started thinking about all of the ways that I am just so completely blessed. I wake up early, I kiss my husband goodbye, I drive 45 minutes to work and each day I take for granted how I am blessed to see the sun rise each morning. I leave when the sun is just peeking over the mountains in the distance and this morning I decided to take photos of the view. As we prepare to move in the next couple of weeks I think that I am going to miss those morning drives where I am able to spend some quiet time thinking of all that my life has to offer. I am saddened to know that with all that this move is providing that I am going to miss that “me time” in the morning where I am able to reflect on everything. Too often I think ahead of what I hope to accomplish and I do not take the time to appreciate where I am in those real moments. I forget where I have been as I try to focus on where I am going. Goals in life are a very good thing to have but most definitely I think as women we get so caught up in what we must do that we forget to just relax in the moment and appreciate all that it has to offer. I am trying to remind myself everyday that it doesn’t have to go as scheduled. I can spend time with my husband and not talk about all the things we have to do. I can work and also share a moment to laugh with my co-workers. I can call my great aunt that I haven’t seen in months and make time just to tell her how much I love her and miss her. I can go see my grandmother who is handicapped and smile when I see her face light up when she recognizes me. But most of all, I can just thank God for what I have and not ask for anything in return. I think true happiness is not found at the end of the journey, it is in the moments that we can appreciate all that we have and be content with just where we are. My goal for the week is to just hold onto those morning drives because once we move and they are gone, I will have to find a new way to make time to appreciate all that I have. Life is so hectic and so very difficult at times, but for all of my struggles I have been blessed with some many more beautiful moments. Take a moment to reflect on all of your blessings today and tell your loved ones how much you love them and treasure those moments.

Melony

“You may encounter many defeats, but you must not be defeated. In fact, it may be necessary to encounter the defeats, so you can know who you are, what you can rise from, how you can still come out of it.ā€
ā€• Maya Angelou

