For years I’ve wondered why I couldn’t keep friends. For a while, I remained clueless. Tired of coming up with my own answers, I prayed to God inquiring about so many friends that were no longer in my life. When doing so, I came across John 15:13. The scripture read, “Greater love has no one than this, the he lay down his life for his friends.” It was at that moment that I realized the people I referred to as my friends were only foes. God dismissed those individuals from my life because they were not my solution, but an addition to many of my problems.
Sadly, losing a friend is never an easy pill to swallow. You sit and ask over and over, “what did I do wrong” or “what can I do differently”. Although these feelings are normal, it’s important to remember where the feeling of guilt originates from– the devil. The next important thing is that God recognizes your heart. He acknowledges your intentions even when it’s perceived in the wrong light.
A wise person once told me, “Never leave your door open for strangers”. It took me years to interpret what that person was saying, but in the long run, it made me appreciate the beauty and importance of investing in friends.

Yours truly,
JasmineB.

