I hope all of you beautiful women are remaining strong out there…

So in a few days I will be spending some time with a sick family member of mines who is diagnosed with schizophrenia. She is close family to me and as I have been able to spend a lot of time away from her, I have been able to reflect on my relationship with this woman. She has had this problem for as long as I’ve known her and the reason it is stressful for me is because she says hurtful things to me. I know she does not mean these things and it is just a part of her illness, but I sometimes cannot help but to take her words personal. So this is my issue. I love her to death but when I am with her I cannot help but sometimes feel anger towards her for the things she says. But after my anger dissolves I feel guilty because inside of me I know that she is suffering with this illness and cannot always control her thoughts and words. And so here is my question: How do remain calm, loving, and forgiving in the midst of her “crazy talk” and at times hurtful words towards me? And to everyone out there wondering who this beautiful and crazy woman is, she is my mother.

 

 

